Quaglia-Logo-Post 3


The first logo I chose is Pinkberry’s.  The logo stood out to me because it appeals to my aesthetic,  because I am a part of the audience it is trying to reach.  It is undoubtedly aimed at young individuals who are looking for a more healthy/wholesome frozen treat.  This is evident because of the bright, fun colors used in the logo and the sleek/modern, yet funky typeface (Bauhaus, yay!).  I think this logo is effective because it isn’t over-designed.  It is perfect in its simplicity.  The graphic element used in the logo?: A pink berry.  The graphic element used is highly symbolic of their name and brand.  I like how they took it a step farther and made the graphic a little more interesting and symbolic of the brand by making the berry a swirl.  If you think about the designer’s process in terms of what we learned in class the other day, it is obvious they thought of a pink berry as an image that described the brand and swirly as an image that comes to mind when one thinks of frozen yogurt.  The little leaf adds a very organic feel, as does the green used for their type.  Without knowing what Pinkberry was, but with having understanding of design, you could probably make an educated guess that this logo is for a fresh, healthy ice cream/sweets company.

I decided to compare two logos that served similar purposes (as symbols for frozen yogurt companies) because I think it is easier to judge them by comparison.  It is very obvious that the two logos are going for the same feel because both use a Bauhaus-esque font style that is modern and bubbly.  The Alpha logo employs the same bright color scheme as Pinkberry’s. Where I think Alpha’s logo pales in comparison is their graphic elements.  They also wanted to use a swirly image to provoke the thought of frozen yogurt, however they did it a little more literally.  The swirl of frozen yogurt sitting on top of the type looks disconnected and out of place.  Not to mention it resembles a cartoon-ish version of, well, a pile of poo.  When I saw their logo I immediately said, wow, did the designers consider that while they were creating it?  Without the rest of the cone or cup that the frozen yogurt is supposed to be in, the graphic just looks incomplete. Another really bad graphic element is the weird dancing figure.  I think Alpha was also trying to emphasize that frozen yogurt is a healthier alternative to ice cream, but unless people are working out while eating their fro-yo, I don’t think the energetic little person is appropriate.  If the logo didn’t say “frozen yogurt” under the brand name (or have the weird swirly pile of frozen yogurt), I would be left wondering if Alpha was an exercise/dance studio.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by mmp91 on February 16, 2011 at 9:49 PM

    I completely agree that the pink berry logo not only has a target audience that it conveys to well, but it is also more put together then the alpha yogurt logo. The pink berry logo has natural colors in it, a soft pink and a light green. The light green automatically has meaning that the food is healthy, because when I think of green I think vegetables and health, and even though this is a yogurt company, it still conveys health because of the green leaves that are coming off the pink berry logo. The “in” feel that this logo has is conveyed by it’s modern font, compared to the Alpha yogurt font, which is reminiscent of a medicine with “frozen yogurt” under it’s name and the person dancing in the corner. Also, the purple and green make me think of grapes, not frozen yogurt. Maybe that’s why they feel the need to include the words “frozen yogurt” in their logo. I know that pink berry does not include the words “frozen yogurt” in their logo because the little swirl in the pink berry image reminds people of the soft serve yogurt the business is known for. Overall, I agree that the pink berry logo is much more effective and modern.

    Reply

Leave a comment